Paul H. Earley, MD, DFASAM
President, 2018-2020
Dr. Earley has been an Addiction Medicine Physician for 30 years. He treats all types of addictive disorders and specializes in the assessment and treatment of health care professionals. As a therapist, he works with patients already in recovery, providing long term therapy for those who suffer from this disease. His professional expertise extends to advocacy for professionals before agencies and licensing boards. Dr. Earley is a dynamic speaker and educator; he speaks and trains on topics of...Read more



Chris Bundy, MD, MPH
President-Elect, 2018-2020
Dr. Bundy is Executive Medical Director at WPHP and Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Washington School of Medicine.   He is board certified in geriatric psychiatry and addiction medicine. Dr. Bundy came to WPHP from the VA Puget Sound Health Care System where he was Mental Health Service Chief and Chief of Psychiatry. Prior to working at the VA, Dr. Bundy was in private practice in Seattle.Read more


P. Bradley Hall, MD, DABAM
Past President, 2018-2020
Dr. Hall is a third-generation West Virginia physician originally from Clarksburg. He attended college, medical school and family practice residency at WV University. After 15 years of private practice in Bridgeport West Virginia, he became involved in the establishment of the West Virginia Medical Professionals Health Program serving as the Founding Medical Director. He currently serves as President/Executive Director of the West Virginia Society of Addiction Medicine (WVSAM). He is a Fellow...Read more

Secretary, 2019-2021
Heather A. Wilson, MSW, CFRE has over 25 years of leadership experience in the health and services field. Currently she serves as deputy executive vice president for the Pennsylvania Medical Society (PAMED). She concurrently serves as executive director of the Foundation of the Pennsylvania Medical Society which includes the Physician’s Health Program and LifeGuard®, a clinical skills assessment program for physicians. Read more 

Deanne Chapman, PA-C
Treasurer, 2019-2021
Deanne Chapman is a board-certified physician assistant with nearly 20 years of clinical and leadership experience.  She joined the NH Professionals Health Program (NHPHP) as Assistant Medical Director in October of 2004 with a background in hospital employee health and occupational medicine. Read more

  Mary Fahey, LCSW
Central Region Director, 2019-2021
Mary Fahey is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and has worked for the Missouri Physicians Health Program since May, 2008. In her role as a clinical coordinator, she oversees the day to day operations of the program as they relate to the physicians that are monitored. Mary comes to this position with 32 years of sobriety and has a strong understanding of the recovery process. She has conducted interventions, made Board appearances and advocated strongly for physicians both personally and...Read more

Terry Lavery, LCPC
Central Region Director, 2018-2020
Terry Lavery, MA, LCPC, serves as a Clinical Care Advocate of the Illinois Professionals Health Program, LLC, a position he has held since 2013. He provides services for physicians, chiropractors, veterinarians, dentists, pharmacists, and nurses. He frequently provides presentations regarding wellness, substance abuse and stress in healthcare for academic institutions. Prior to this role, he was a primary clinician in a professionals treatment program for over 11 years. He is a member of the...Read more

  Kathleen Boyd, MSW, LICSW
Northeast Region Director, 2019-2020
Kathleen (“Kathi”) Boyd is a clinical social worker with over forty years of clinical experience.  She is a 1985 graduate of Smith College School for Social Work and holds an undergraduate degree in Human Development.  Since January of 2013, she has been the director of the Rhode Island Medical Society’s Physician Health Program in which she is responsible for the daily management and operation of the program including conducting initial interventions and providing ongoing case management...Read more

Jon A. Shapiro, MD, DABAM, FASAM, MRO

Northeast Region Director, 2019-2021
Dr. Shapiro has worked in Internal Medicine, Gastroenterology and now concentrates on Addiction Medicine. In addition to serving as the medical director of the Pennsylvania PHP, he currently chairs the board of directors of Eagleville Hospital, a long running center of excellence in substance abuse. He is a graduate of the University of Pa. medical school with residency at the Thomas Jefferson University hospital. He is the lead physician for Philadelphia for ARS, an outpatient provider of...Read more

  Michael J. Baron, MD, MPH
Southeast Region Director, 2018-2020
Dr. Michael Baron attained his Medical Degree, Masters in Public Health and completed an internal medicine internship at Tulane University, School of Medicine. He completed his first residency in Anesthesiology at Washington University in St Louis, School of Medicine and his Psychiatry training at Vanderbilt University, School of Medicine. He has maintained board certifications in Anesthesiology, Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine. He has practiced in the Nashville area since 1998 in a variety...Read more
  Scott L. Hambleton, MD, DFASAM
Southeast Region Director, 2019-2021

Dr. Hambleton is a 1994 graduate of the University of Tennessee School Of Medicine. He completed the Accelerated Family Practice Residency at the University of Tennessee in 1996. He completed the University of Florida Addiction Medicine Fellowship at Pine Grove Behavioral Health in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, in 2007. Dr. Hambleton has served as a Past President of the Mississippi Chapter of the American Society of Addiction Medicine. He is board certified by the American Board of Family Medicine, the American Board of Preventative Medicine ...Read more


  Doris Gundersen, MD
Western Region Director, 2019-2021
Dr. Gundersen is a graduate of the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in San Antonio, Texas where she received her Medical Degree in 1989. She completed residency training in Adult Psychiatry at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver , Colorado in 1993. She has added qualifications in Forensic Psychiatry. Dr. Gundersen is an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Colorado. She maintains a private practice specializing in...Read more

Michael J. Ramirez, MS
Western Region Director, 2018-2020
Michael J. Ramirez, M.S., serves as Clinical Director of the Montana Professional Assistance Program, Inc., a position that he has held since 1995. He holds a Master of Science Degree in Rehabilitation Counseling from Montana State University-Billings. He is a member of the Federation of State Physician Health Programs, in which he serves as Board Member and Western Regional Representative, member of the Ethics Committee, Task Force on Accountability, Consistency and Excellence, Guidelines Task...Read more

  Alexis Polles, MD
Director-at-Large, 2019-2021
Dr. Polles is a Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and a Diplomate of the American Board of Addiction Medicine.  For the past 30 years her practice has been devoted to treating those with addiction and co-occurring disorders at all levels of care, specializing in the treatment of trauma and addiction.  Alexis graduated from the Tulane University School of Medicine, completed a residency in Emergency Medicine at LSU Charity Hospital and a residency in psychiatry at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.     Read more